Voters off to the polling station yesterday for Collington by-election

Residents of Bexhill’s Collington ward had their chance to vote yesterday for a successor to Cllr John Lee who stood down for personal reasons after three years in office.

Cllr Lee was elected in May 2011 as an independent and was one of four members of the Association of Independents group.

Voters had the choice between Alan Bearne, the Labour party candidate, Philip Moore representing UKIP, Douglas Oliver, an Independent, and Gillian Wheeler of the Conservatives.

Polling stations were in St Augustine’s church hall, Cooden Beach sports and social club, and Bexhill Amateur Athletic club.