Breaking news: Home start for Hastings

Hastings United and South Park will meet at The Pilot Field on the opening day of the new season. Picture courtesy Scott White
Hastings United and South Park will meet at The Pilot Field on the opening day of the new season. Picture courtesy Scott White
  • Hastings United’s league fixtures announced
  • United start at home to South Park on August 13
  • Second game is away to Herne Bay on August 16
  • U’s face Lewes on Boxing Day and Easter Monday
  • Final fixture at home to Chipstead on April 22
0
Have your say

Hastings United’s footballers will begin the new season on home soil, following the release of the fixtures this morning (Friday).

The U’s will kick-off their 2016/17 Ryman Football League Division One South campaign with a visit from South Park on Saturday August 13 in what will be new manager Darren Hare’s first competitive game in charge.

United will travel to Herne Bay in their first away match the following Tuesday and their third league fixture will also be away from home, against Chipstead on Saturday August 27.

The first half of October looks pretty interesting, with home games against Horsham - who are back in the league having been relegated in 2014/15 - on the 1st and Guernsey on the 15th, and a midweek trip to Hythe Town on the 11th.

The festive fixtures will see United host relegated Lewes in an East Sussex derby on Boxing Day before heading to Sittingbourne on New Year’s Eve. That will be followed by a trip to East Grinstead Town on Monday January 2.

The away game against Guernsey has been pencilled in for Sunday February 19 and there’s another Sunday fixture on April 9, away to Cray Wanderers. United will host Walton Casuals on Easter Saturday (April 15) and make the short trip to Lewes on Easter Monday in the penultimate match.

The final fixture is at home to Chipstead on Saturday April 22. United have also this morning announced an additional pre-season friendly, at home to Westfield on Tuesday August 2.

Hastings United’s 2016/17 Ryman Football League Division One South fixtures: Saturday August 13 South Park (h), Tuesday August 16 Herne Bay (a), Saturday August 27 Chipstead (a), Monday August 29 East Grinstead Town (h).

Saturday September 3 Molesey (a), Tuesday September 6 Sittingbourne (h), Saturday September 10 Godalming Town (h), Saturday September 17 Walton Casuals (a), Tuesday September 20 Faversham Town (h), Saturday September 24 Dorking Wanderers (a), Tuesday September 27 Greenwich Borough (a).

Saturday October 1 Horsham (h), Tuesday October 11 Hythe Town (a), Saturday October 15 Guernsey (h), Tuesday October 18 Herne Bay (h), Saturday October 22 Whyteleafe (a), Saturday October 29 Three Bridges (h).

Saturday November 5 Carshalton Athletic (a), Saturday November 12 Ramsgate (h), Saturday November 19 Chatham Town (a), Tuesday November 22 Greenwich Borough (h), Saturday November 26 Horsham (a), Tuesday November 29 Faversham Town (a).

Saturday December 3 Dorking Wanderers (h), Saturday December 10 Corinthian-Casuals (h), Saturday December 17 Tooting & Mitcham United (a), Monday December 26 Lewes (h), Saturday December 31 Sittingbourne (a).

Monday January 2 East Grinstead Town (a), Saturday January 7 Cray Wanderers (h), Saturday January 14 Three Bridges (a), Saturday January 21 Carshalton Athletic (h), Saturday January 28 Hythe Town (h).

Saturday February 4 South Park (a), Saturday February 11 Whyteleafe (h), Sunday February 19 Guernsey (a), Saturday February 25 Chatham Town (h).

Saturday March 4 Ramsgate (a), Saturday March 11 Tooting & Mitcham United (h), Saturday March 18 Corinthian-Casuals (a), Saturday March 25 Molesey (h).

Saturday April 1 Godalming Town (a), Sunday April 9 Cray Wanderers (a), Saturday April 15 Walton Casuals (h), Monday April 17 Lewes (a), Saturday April 22 Chipstead (h).

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at facebook.com/pages/Sport-Sussex

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!