Bexhill Chess Club

On Tuesday 16th June, Sussex Day, the new Mayor of Bexhill, Councillor Maurice Watson, attended the Club’s venue, the BUPA Grosvenor Park Nursing and Residential Home, 26 Brookfield Road, to present prizes for the internal competitions.

The Club’s Championship trophy, dating back to 1930, was presented to the joint winners, John Kimber and Roy Webb, who scored 5½/9. Third was Alfred Mikurenda (5/9).

The winner of the secondary competition, the Gordon Trophy, was 12-year-old Batuhan Kaya, who scored a remarkable 9½ points from 11, with no losses. Second was former Mayor, Paul Lendon (9/11), and third was David Slidel (8½/11).

The inaugural Blitz Tournament, held that afternoon, was won jointly by Derek Cosens and Roy Webb, the two longest-standing members of the Club, with a score of 5/6. Third was Alan Ticehurst (4½/6).