Will Tories hold on to Bexhill and Battle seat?

Huw Merriman
Huw Merriman

The polls have closed and counting is underway at the De La Warr Pavilion to find out who will be the next MP for Bexhill and Battle.

Conservative Huw Merriman became MP in 2015 with 30,245 votes ahead of UKIP’s Geoffrey Bastin on 10,170.

Mr Merriman is standing again this year, up against Christine Bayliss (Labour), Joel Kemp (Liberal Democrats), Geoffrey Bastin (UKIP) and Jonathan Kent (Green Party).

The result is expected at around 3am on Friday morning (June 9) following the count at the DLWP.

BBC’s exit poll has predicted a hung Parliament, with the Conservatives losing seats to other parties.

Click here for more information about the Bexhill and Battle candidates.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1) Make our website your homepage

2) Like our Facebook page

3) Follow us on Twitter

4) Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!

Always the first with your local news.

Be part of it.