Slight change in Rother cabinet at annual meeting

Bexhill Town Hall SUS-160804-165750001
Bexhill Town Hall SUS-160804-165750001

The make-up of Rother District Council’s cabinet is set to change slightly which will be confirmed at its annual meeting on Monday (May 16).

Current member for Bexhill affairs, culture and tourism Simon Elford is being replaced by Sally-Ann Hart.

The Eastern Rother representative Cllr Hart will be given a new portfolio – public realm, culture and tourism – with Cllr Ian Hollidge adding Bexhill town centre to his remit.

All of the other cabinet members remain the same with Carl Maynard remaining leader with Cllr Martin Kenward as his deputy.

Cllr Paul Osborne will become the new council chairman replacing Jim Carroll, and Cllr Mary Barnes becoming deputy chairman.

A motion to record the council’s gratitude to Cllr Carroll for his ‘conscientious and impartial discharge’ of his duties as chairman has been raised.

The full council will then discuss the proposals to upgrade several car park machines, introduce public speaking at planning meetings and approve the authority’s response to the ward boundary review.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1) Make our website your homepage

2) Like our Facebook page

3) Follow us on Twitter

4) Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!

Always the first with your local news.

Be part of it.