Priory skipper hails ‘brilliant’ spirit

George Campbell has praised the “brilliant” spirit within Hastings Priory Cricket Club at present.

Saturday, 20th July 2013, 6:00 am
Byron Gould attempts to run the ball down to third man during his match-winning innings for Hastings Priory against Preston Nomads in the Gray-Nicolls Sussex T20 Cup on Sunday. Picture by Simon Newstead

Priory have won their last three matches in all competitions, a set of results which has propelled them to third in the Sussex Premier League and into the Gray-Nicolls Sussex T20 Cup semi-finals.

“There’s a brilliant spirit in the team,” said Priory captain Campbell. “Everybody’s enjoying their cricket and I think that’s showing in the results. We knew this month was going to be vital for us and we’ve started it in perfect fashion.”

Although just 21 points behind second-placed Horsham, Priory are also only 40 above a bottom-of-the-table Worthing side which they will visit today (Saturday).

Priory will be eager to atone for the disapppointment of losing by two runs at home to the same opponents back in May and the form book certainly favours them with Worthing having their lost their last four league games.

“Even though we’ve won the last two (league fixtures), there still isn’t a massive gap down below,” continued Campbell. “It’s important to keep those wins coming and Saturday’s a huge game for us. Fingers crossed we can put in a good show again.”


Sussex Cricket League, 1st XI Premier League (12.30): Worthing v Hastings Priory.

1st XI Division 2 (1): Bexhill v Findon; Crowhurst Park v Glynde & Beddingham.

2nd XI Division 1 (1): Brighton & Hove v Bexhill; Hastings Priory v Haywards Heath.

2nd XI Division 3 (East) (1): Keymer & Hassocks v Crowhurst Park.

East Sussex Cricket League (1.30), Division 1: Buxted Park v Iden; Ringmer v Rye.

Division 2: Battle v Fletching; Crowborough v Robertsbridge.

Division 4: Herstmonceux v Newick II; Polegate & Stone Cross v Little Common Ramblers.

Division 5: Bexhill III v Buxted Park II; Pett v Rotherfield.

Division 6: Hastings Priory III v Willingdon II; Iden II v Bells Yew Green II.

Division 7: Nutley v Udimore; Plumpton & East Chiltington II v Battle II; Robertsbridge II v Alfriston; Rye II v Selmeston & Alciston.

Division 8: Barcombe II v Bexhill IV; Burwash Weald v Crowborough II; Little Common Ramblers II v Newhaven II; Seaford III v Herstmonceux II.

Division 10: Crowhurst Park III v Maresfield II; Rotherfield II v Pett II.

Division 11: DPB II v Bexhill V; Lewes Priory III v Sidley; Robertsbridge III v Mayfield III.

Division 12: Rye III v Newhaven III.

Division 13: Crowhurst Park IV v Bells Yew Green IV; St Peters IV v Rye IV.