Sunday football welcomes four new clubs

FOUR new clubs will take part in next season's Hastings & East Sussex Sunday Football League after the constitution was drawn up at the AGM on Sunday.

Thursday, 17th June 2004, 2:43 pm
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 8:09 pm

The addition of the Fountain, FC Spar, West St Leonards Community Centre and the Welcome Stranger to all of the clubs which ended last season with the exception of Oddfellows Arms' second string swells the numbers to 29 - one more than the total that started the previous campaign.

Honorary League secretary Robin Powell said: "I was really pleased, it was very positive. I think it will be a good season."

Powell's contentment wasn't merely confined to the increase in clubs taking part but several other odds and ends that were tied up at the Welcome Stranger public house in St Leonards.

Last season's successful early start will be repeated with proceedings commencing on Sunday August 22, the experiment with team-sheets being handed to referees prior to kick-off in Division One matches last term will apply for all league and cup matches in 2004/05 and contributions to the Provident Fund, which provides financial support to players injured in matches played under the league's jurisdiction, have increased from 50 to 75 per club.

The one rule change regarding player availability means that players must be registered at least 24 hours in advance of cup semis and finals while fines for breach of discipline have risen slightly.

All clubs are reminded that they must affiliate with the Sussex County FA by July 1 and send a representative to the league's pre-season assembly meeting on August 8. Existing clubs are required to forward their balance sheets to the Sussex County FA by September 30.

Constitution for 2004/05 - Division 1: Bexhill Athletic (formerly Bexhill United), Ridge West Garage, Silverhill Club, Abbey, Oddfellows Arms, Tilekiln CC, Comet, Collington, Unilock.

Division 2: Bexhill Athletic II, Bo-Peep, Sporting Priory, Hooe GAF, Seven Stars, Hungry Horse, Essenden, Saxons, Millers Arms.

Division 3: Bo-Peep II, LG Opticals, Sporting Priory II, Spartan Seniors, Old King John, Porto FC (formerly Towers), Peasmarsh, Fountain, FC Spar, West St Leonards CC, Welcome Stranger.