BREAKING NEWS: Conservatives take seat from Lib Dems in Eastbourne

The Conservative Caroline Ansell has ousted Liberal Democrat Stephen Lloyd in the battle to become the town’s MP.

Friday, 8th May 2015, 8:08 am
General election Eastbourne count SUS-150805-052605001

Amid a tense and nervous atmosphere at the Winter Garden in Eastbourne this morning (Friday, May 8), Caroline Ansell was declared the winner with a slim majority of 733 votes.

The results were as follows: Caroline Ansell (CON) 20,934, Stephen Lloyd (LIB DEM) 20,201, Nigel Jones (UKIP) 6,139, Jake Lambert (LAB) 4,143, Andrew Durling (GREEN) 1,351 and Paul Howard (IND) 139.

There was a long delay in announcing the winner after party political agents asked for the bundles of votes to be recounted.

She will be the town’s Member of Parliament for the next five years.

The mother of three said she was delighted with the result and looking forward to representing Eastbourne and being a first class constituency MP.

Mr Lloyd, who had a majority of 3,435 when he was elected in 2010, came second in the parliamentary count despite predictions he would win and increase his majority.

For further news check the website

* The count for the borough council elections – to elect 27 members to the council – is being held at the Town Hall on Saturday with the results being announced throughout the day.