Bexhill honour stars of the season

Bexhill United Football Club held its end-of-season presentation at The Polegrove Sports Bar on Saturday evening.

Friday, 26th May 2017, 12:43 am
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 10:26 pm
Supporters' player of the year Craig McFarlane (second-right) with chairman Bill Harrison (second-left) and club sponsors. Pictures courtesy Mark Killy

The Pirates’ first and second teams, and under-21s handed out various awards as they reflected on the 2016/17 season.

For the front side, 17-goal leading scorer Gordon Cuddington won the managers’ player award and dependable defender Craig McFarlane scooped the players’ player accolade.

Winners: president’s award - Pauline Killy; Pat Naughton Shield - Bill Harrison; supporters’ player of the year - Craig McFarlane; supporters’ most improved player - Kyle Holden; chairman’s award - Kenny Butchers.

Pirate of the year Craig Ottley (centre) with Mark and Pauline Killy.

U21 awards: manager’s player of the year - Nathan Lopez; players’ player - Nathan Lopez; most improved player - Harry Hammond; goal of the season - Josh Pickering; clubman of the year - Brad Rayner.

Second team awards: manager’s player of the year - Andrew Matthews; players’ player - Andrew Matthews & Ben Packer; team award - Tom Puddefoot; G+A award - Andrew Matthews; linesman golden flag award - Harry Puddefoot; Gordon Ramsay tribute award - Chris Adams.

First team awards: managers’ player of the year - Gordon Cuddington; players’ player - Craig McFarlane.

Other awards: committee special recognition award - Paul Bezance; committee player of the year - Corey Wheeler; Killys’ special recognition award - Simon Dunne; Pirate of the year - Craig Ottley.

Andrew Matthews (centre) receives the second team manager's player of the season award alongside Scott Woodroffe (right).

Bexhill’s first team finished 10th in Macron Store Southern Combination Football League Division One - their first season under the management of Nigel Kane and Ryan Light.

The second team came third in Macron East Sussex Football League Division Three and reached the semi-finals of three cup competitions.

The under-21s were bottom of Southern Combination League Under 21 (East).

* Bexhill United Football Club will hold its annual general meeting at The Polegrove Sports Bar on Friday June 2 from 7pm.

Committee special recognition award winner Paul Bezance (far right) with Bill Harrison (second-left) and club sponsors.

New committee members and officers are required, and contact can be made via club secretary Simon Dunne on 07983 134245.