Little Common extend unbeaten run with Loxwood win

Little Common extended their unbeaten start to the league season by picking up their first win with a 3-1 success at home to Loxwood on Saturday.

Saturday, 26th September 2020, 10:17 pm
Little Common's Paul Feakins. Picture by Andy Pelling

Common were once again missing a whole host of players and manager Russell Eldridge made two changes to his starting line up with Ryan Paul and Adam Smith replacing Lewis Parsons (suspended) and Freddie Warren.

Chances came and went at both ends of the pitch in a fairly open first half with the visitors having the first sight of goal but an attempted lob drifted wide. The Commoners broke the deadlock in the ninth minute when a swift break saw Paul Feakins release Harry Saville and after driving towards goal his emphatic finish nestled into the corner of the net.

A long range effort was saved by a back peddling Matt Cruttwell before Common almost doubled their lead when the ball was parried to the feet of Feakins but the away keeper did well to smother his shot.

It was Feakins who went close once again after half an hour but Kian Moynes’ neat pull back found its way over the bar.

At the other end Cruttwell did well to save with his feet before Common doubled their advantage five minutes before the break when Moynes’ delivery was met at the far post by the head of Lewis Hole. Feakins saw another effort saved when released through on goal but the score remained 2-0 at the interval.

Chances were at premium in the second half with neither keeper tested until the final ten minutes. Liam Ward saw a scuffed effort comfortably gathered whilst Cruttwell did well to divert a bouncing effort over the crossbar.

With ten minutes remaining the visitors were handed a lifeline when Cam Clark was penalised for a push in the box and the resultant spot kick was rolled home. Common responded almost instantly to put the game beyond doubt when Cruttwell released substitute Kasey Smith who finished neatly beyond the advancing keeper.

Squad: Cruttwell, Clark, Weeks, Ward, Paul, Eldridge, Moynes, Feakins (Grieg), Hole, Saville (K.Smith), A.Smith (Warren).

Report contributed